Saudi-Home-Architectural-Design-1

فهم العمارة السعودية للمنازل

الشرق الأوسط ليس فقط موطن الثقافة الإسلامية، بل أيضا أرضا خصبة لبعض فنون الهندسة المعمارية المدهشة جدا،

تذكر مركز البحرين التجاري العالمي، لكن إضفاء الطابع الثقافي والتقليدي ل منطقة المينا أنتجت نمطا مختلفا كليا عن الذي لدينا في الغرب. لذلك أنا هنا اليوم لإخبارك كيف أن تصميم معماري لبيت في السعودية يمكنه أن يكون مختلفا عن أي منزل معاصر آخر في الغرب.

عندما بدأت العمل في منطقة المينا أول مرة، خصوصا في المملكة العربية السعودية، لم يكن لدي أدنى فكرة عن كيفية التصرف لتلبية كل المطالب المتفردة التي يجب توفيرها أثناء تصميم البيوت والوحدات السكنية في المنطقة، لكن اليوم يمكنني أن أقول أنني أصبحت خبيرا حقيقيا، لنتطرق لصلب الموضوع، دعونا ننظر إلى كل الأشياء التي يجب إداراكها عند تصميم بيت في السعودية.

سبع نصائح مهمة عليك مراعاتها أثناء وضع نموذجا ناجحا لتصميم معماري لبيت في السعودية.

1. التخطيط المدني

التخطيط المدني لتصميم معماري لبيت في السعودية يرتكز على الثقافة والتقاليد.

الدين الإسلامي يولي اهتماما كبيرا للعائلة. وهذا يعني المناطق المشتركة والمساحات الواسعة أمرا لا بد منه لاحتواء التفاعلات الأسرية والتجمعات العائلية. ولهذا السبب فعند تصميم الفلل للطبقة المتوسط أو الطبقة الرفيعة المستوى فإن 60% من مساحة الأرض تستخدم لإقامة المرافق الأساسية، أما ال 40% المتبقية يتم تشجريها أو تستخدم كفناء مركزي. وهو أمر شائع جدا في البيوت في السعودية.

علاوة على ذلك، فإن المناطق الخاصة لركن السيارات في السعودية هي مناطقة غير معرشة. ليس هناك كراجات أو أي مناطق مغلقة للسيارات. على الرغم وبحسب خبرتي فإنه من الأفضل دائما توفير مناطق مغلقة لركن السيارات بإمكانها أن تحمي السيارة من ضوء الشمس المباشر. وقد تقوم بعمل أكثر إبداعا يمكنك استخدام دعامات هيكلية من الخشب.

التصميم المعماري للبيت في السعودية عادة ما يتكون من طابقين ونصف. ففي حين الطابق الأرضي والطابق الأول

هي للعائلة والضيوف، فإن الطابق الثاني يعادل نصف مساحة القبو. الجزء المتبقي يستخدم عادة ك تراس، حديقة أو منطقة للشواء.

يعتبر التراس الواسع الشيء المثالي للجلسات العائلية بما فيها سهرات الإفطار في رمضان.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك فبحسب التخطيط المدني في السعودية يسمح بإنشاء قبو.

2. تصميمات المدخل

ستتفاجأ بكم الاختلافات في التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية مقارنة حتى بدول عربية أخرى. هناك لا مفر نوعين أساسيين من المداخل، بوابة كبيرة كمدخل للسيارات ملحقة بممر خاص بالإضافة إلى العديد من الأبواب (حوالي 3 إلى4 ) أبواب للمقيمين في البيت. تفصيل المداخل: أولا، مدخل خاص بالمقيمين، ثانيا خاص للضيوف من الحريم، آخر من أجل الضيوف الرجال وأخيرا باب خلفي في المطبخ.

وعلاوة على ذلك، ستجد مدخل منفصل لمناطق الجناح إذا تم تصميم المنزل في الواقع على نطاق واسع.

كما أن هناك جانبا خاصا بالخدم في البيت السعودي، يتكون عادة من غرفة للخادمة وأخرى للسائق ملحق بها حمام صغير ومطبخ.

بالطبع حسب القانون الجديد الذي سمح للنساء بالقيادة في السعودية، قد تصبح غرفة السائق ليست ذات أهمية.

عادة ما تقام مقرات الخدم خارج المطبخ مع مدخل منفصل يؤدي للبيت الرئيسي. بينما تقام غرفة السائق في التصميم المعماري للبيت في السعودية في محيط البيت، تقع بالقرب من البوابة الرئيسية ولها مدخل مباشر على الشارع. ومن اللائق أن يكون بالغرفة سرير و حمام.

3. المناظر الطبيعية والمساحات الخضراء

عادة ما تكون المناظر الجميلة والمساحات الخضراء جسر عبور بين المدخل والمخرج في التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية. يحاط البيت السعودي بجدار خارجي على محيط البيت. ويصنع عادة من طوب البناء الصلب بمعدل 7-8 أقدام طول، بحيث يحجب الرؤية الخارجية التي قد يكون من شأنها انتهاك خصوصية العائلة.

من ناحية ثانية فإن هذه الجدران الخارجية عادة ما تكون مزينة بالجص والإضاءة الجميلة على حد سواء داخليا وخارجيا لإضافة رونقا وجمالا للبيت.

كون الدين الإسلامي دين الكرم والرحمة والعطاء، فإن الناس عادة ما يقيمون شرفة خاصة لبرادات الماء في الجدار الخارجي للمنزل لتزويد المسافرين العطشى والمارة بالماء.علمت بهذا التقليد عندما طلب أحد العملاء أن أقيم شرفة خاصة في الجدار الخارجي لبيته من أجل براد الماء، كنت قد سمعت بالأمر في الماضي، لكن كمعماري أحببت فكرة إنشاء منطقة تقدم خدمة للآخرين. فقط في تصميم البيت في السعودية والتي هي بدون أدنى شك نابعة من الثقافة العربية الإسلامية، بإمكانك أن تقيم مكانا يقدم خدمة للناس على ملكيتك الخاصة.

فيما يتعلق بالمساحات الخضراء الفعلية، هذا كل ما تحتاج إلى معرفته:

– المساحات الخضراء والمناظر الطبيعية تعطي شعورا واحساسا بالكرم في التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية.

– يمكنك استخدام المساحات الخضراء (المروج، بقع خضراء صغيرة والمناطق ذات المناظر الطبيعية جذابة) جنبا إلى جنب مع باحات لخلق الانسجام الطبيعي في تصميم المنزل.

– المناظر الطبيعية الحادة، مثل النوافير مع العناصر الأكثر بساطة كالأشجار والشجيرات والسياجات تظهر مسحة من الكرم للأصدقاء والعائلة.

– عادة ما تستخدم المسابح العميقة والمسابح الضحلة ، النوافير ، العشب وأنواع متعددة من الأشجار في تصميم المناظر الطبيعية للبيت في السعودية.

– منطقة جلوس شبه مفتوحة للعائلة والضيوف بإمكانها أن تضيف قيمة إلى تصميم المنزل عموما

4. الفراغ وأهمية الاتجاهات

لا يهم موقع البيت، المهم أن يتضمن المرافق الأساسية، غرفة المعيشة، غرفة الطعام، مطبخ، غرفة نوم وحمام. لكن وبسبب طبيعة المناخ والثقافة في المملكة العربية السعودية، هناك مرافق أخرى يتضمنها التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية. على سبيل المثال، المجلس أو الصالون، أحدها للرجال وآخر للنساء مع مرافق مياه منفصلة عن بعضهما البعض إضافة لذلك غرف طعام خاصة بالضيوف على الطراز العربي.

أمر آخر يجب مراعاته في تصميم البيوت في السعودية هو الاتجاهات. يجب أن تتبع المساكن تصميم معماري خاص في المملكة العربية السعودية. فبينما تحقيق الخصوصية أمرا في غاية الأهمية، فإن الاتجاهات هي في جوهر التصميم. هل تعلم أن المسلمين يأدون صلواتهم مستقبلين القبلة (بيت الله الحرام). لذلك فإن مقدمة السرير لابد أن تستقبل وجهة أخرى. بالمثل أيضا فإن كرسي أداة الحاجة لا يجب أن يواجه جهة الغرب. علاوة على ذلك فإن المصلى جزء من تصميم كل غرفة.

عادة ما تصمم غرف النوم والمعيشة في الدور الأرضي و الدور الأول. المناطق المخصص للرجال عادة ما تكون قريبة من المدخل الرئيسي ومفصولة كليا عن الجناح الخاص بالنساء. وبعيدة عن خصوصية المنزل. عادة ما يحتفظ بالقبو كمكاتب، غرف ترفيهية أو مسرح لمشاهدة الأفلام. في العادة يطلب مالكي البيوت السعوديين أن يكون للقبو مدخل منفصل قريب من البوابة الرئيسية ليتسنى لهم اصطحاب أصدقائهم بدون المساس بخصوصية المنزل.

5. تصميم المجلس

يعتبر المجلس جزءا مهما من التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية. كما يعتبر حسن الضيافة جزءا أساسيا من الثقافة العربية الإسلامية، لذلك فإن المجلس مكانا مهما لاستقبال الضيوف والترفيه عنهم. كما تلعب الخصوصية عاملا رئيسي في تصميم بيوت المسلمين والمثل ينطبق على المجلس.

لذلك من الضروري أثناء وضع تصميم معماري للبيوت والمساكن في السعودية، إنشاء غرف للرجال والنساء مفصولة تماما عن بعضها البعض. على أن تكون الغرف واسعة ورحبة ولكل منها مدخل خاص. عادة ما يكون مجلس الرجال أكبر من مجلس النساء. ومن الممكن أن يقع مجلس النساء في داخل المنزل أو أن تكون قريبة من الجزء العائلي الخاص. في حين يجب أن يصمم مجلس الرجال بعيدا كل البعد عن هذه المنطقة.

هذه هي أهم الأمور التي يجب معرفتها عند وضع تصميم داخلي للمجلس:

– يجب أن يتضمن التصميم الداخلي للمجلس من أرائك كبيرة على طول محيط الغرفة، وطاولات القهوة أمامها.

– يجب أن يتبع ديكور الجدران والسقف الطبع العام للتصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية.

– مع ذلك فإن استخدام الزخرفة دائما ما تكون أكثر فخامة في المجلس.

– إطارات زخرفية للجدران وخزائن مزخرفة وأرفف للأنتيكا والأسقف المحفورة المزخرفة والإضاءة على الجدران جنبا إلى جنب مع الأرضيات الرخامية هي قاعدة في التصميم الداخلي للمجلس في هذه الأيام.

6. تصميم مرافق المياه

هناك مكان آخر ذا خصوصية خاصة للبيت في السعودية، إنها منطقة الوضوء شبه المفتوحة والحمامات. حيث يعتبر الوضوء طقس طهارة يقوم به المسلمين قبل كل صلاة، من هنا تبع أهميته في ثقافتهم وعاداتهم. تحتل الطهارة مكانا عظيما في الدين. يغسل المسلمون أيديهم قبل القيام بأي عمل. لذلك وجود مرافق المياه بالقرب من المجلس شيء ضروري جدا في التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية.

بالطبع فإن مرافق المياه الخاصة بالرجال مفصولة كليا عن تلك المخصصة للنساء. عادة ما تكون ملحقة بكل مجلس على حدا، حيث يوجد مغسلتين مع مرآة بجانب مرافق المراحيض. على أن يتوافق الديكور الخاص بمرافق المياه مع الديكور المستخدم في المجلس لكن عادة ما يكون بها بعض الزخرفة والإضاءة الخاصة بها.

7. تصميم غرفة الطعام الخاصة بالضيوف

يعتبر إقامة الولائم للضيوف فضيلة من فضائل الإسلام. بل يعتبره العرب واجبا مقدسا. نظرا لأهمية حسن الضيافة عند العرب، فمن المهم توفير مكانا رحبا من أجل إقامة الولائم

هذا ما يلزمك أن تعرفه بخصوص التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية:

– يجب أن تقع هذه الغرفة بين كلا المجلسين، كي يسهل الوصول إليها من كلا الطرفين خلال إقامة الوليمة.

– بشكل مثير للاهتمام وبخلاف ما هو شائع في الغرب، التي عادة ما تكون غرف الطعام مزودة بقطع الأثاث من كراس وطاولات، فإن غرفة الطعام العربية التقليدية لا تحتوي على أي أثاث.

– غطاء طويل من القماش يمد وقت الطعام، ويتحلق الضيوف من حوله على الطريقة العربية، أعني مساند أرضية.

– من أجل ذلك، تغطى أرضية الغرفة كاملا بالسجاد أو البساط.

– عادة ما يكون ديكور هذه الغرفة بسيطا نسبيا، لكن توفير خزائن لحفظ أطباق الطعام شيئا أساسيا

8. تصميم واجهة البيت

ينبغي على كل مهندس أن يأخذ بعين الاعتبار ضرورة وأهمية الأسلوب في التصميم المعماري، سنذكر بعض الأساليب والأنماط التي يمكن أخذها بالاعتبار عند وضع التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية:

– نظرا لطبيعة ضوء الشمس والطقس الصحراوي الحار، فمن الأساس أن تولي اهتماما كبيرا لقائمة بالأشياء التي يجب أو لا يجب القيام بها.

– يجب استخدام مواد متينة ومقاومة للعوامل الجوية القاسية للواجهة الخارجية

-بما أن لون الطلاء والمواد المستخدمة في الواجهة الخارجية يمكنها أن تؤثر على كمية الحرارة أو برودة الهواء التي تأتي من خلال الجدران، فإن الألوان الفاتحة هي الأفضل للبيوت في السعودية.

– يمكن أن يساعد الدهان ذو الألوان الفاتحة على عكس أشعة الشمس بعيدا عن المنزل. الجدران البيضاء على سبيل المثال، تسمح بدخول 35% أقل من الحرارة مقارنة بالجدران السوداء. وبالتالي تتطلب طاقة أقل لتبريد المنزل.

– الطوب والخرسان سيحافظ على المدخل باردا في أيام الصيف أكثر من الجدران المصنوع من مواد خفيفة. كما أن هذه المواد ستمنحك دفئا في الأشهر شديدة البرودة. المواد الكثيفة عادة تمتص الحرارة من المحيط الخارجي وتحتفظ به مدة أطول، تعمل على إبطاء اكتساب الحرارة في الصيف وإبطاء فقدان الحرارة شتاء.

– يفضل أن تكون النوافذ زجاجية مزدوجة أو زجاج عاكسة أو مغطاة بغشاء رقيق ملون في التصميم المعماري لبيت في السعودية.

– النوافذ الملونة يمكنها أن تقلل من حرارة الشمس في منزلك. فحين تكون جالسا بجوار نافذة ملونة، فإن النافذة ستحجب 55% من الحرارة، مما يجعلك تشعر براحة أكبر.

– حجم وعدد النوافذ يجب أن يكون محدودا، ليقلل من أشعة الشمس، لكن على أن يوفر قدرا معقولا من ضوء الشمس لكل الغرف.

– ويمكن تحقيق ذلك باستخدام ظلال، وإنشاء كوة للنافذة أو باستخدام الستائر الخارجية. هذه الطرق سوف تحد من أشعة الشمس ولكن تسمح بعض الضوء الطبيعي أن يأتي في الداخل.

– المداخل التي تحدثت عنها من قبل يجب أن تكون مرئية بوضوح في التصميم الخارجي لأنها تعطي المسكن هويته.

– ينبغي أيضا تحديد المداخل الخاصة بالنساء والخاصة الرجال في ضوء أهمية ثقافة الكرم والضيافة.

كانت هذه هي أهم المميزات في البيت العربي السعودي، أشياء أرى أنه يتوجب على كل مهندس أو مصمم مراعاتها.

أتمنى أن أكون قد نجحت في مشاركة أفكاري الصغيرة لكن الهامة.

اترك تعليقاً

Copyright © 2018 | Comelite-arch.com

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-1

Understanding the Architecture of a Saudi Arabian Home

The Middle East is not only the home of the Muslim Culture, it is also the breeding ground for some pretty awesome architecture. (Remember the Bahrain World Trade Center?) But the cultural and traditional aspects of the MENA area have resulted in a completely different style than what we’re used to in the West. So I’m here today to tell you about how a Saudi home architectural design can be totally different than any other contemporary home in the west.
When I first started working in the MENA region, especially the KSA, I hadn’t the slightest clue on how to handle all the unique requests that had to be met while designing homes and residential units in the area. But today, I’ll even go as far as to say that I’ve become a veritable expert. So without further ado, let’s look at all the tips you should consider when designing a Saudi  Arabian home.

Keep 7 important tips in mind while crafting a successful Saudi Arabian home architectural design.

1. Urban Planning

Urban planning for a Saudi Arabian home architectural design is based on the culture and traditions. The religion of Islam is very family oriented. This means that communal areas and wide spaces for family interactions are always a must. This is why while designing villas in the middle to upper-class neighborhoods, about 60% of the land is used for the building infrastructure. The rest of the 40% is used for green spaces and a central courtyard – which is a very commonplace architectural space in Saudi homes.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-13

Furthermore, the parking spaces for Saudi homes are not covered areas. There are no garages or even closed off spaces to park the cars. However, in my experience, it is always best to provide a semi-covered area for a parking spot that can keep the car out of direct sunlight. If you want to get even more creative, then you can opt for a supporting wooden structure as well.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-2

The Saudi home architectural design usually consists of about 2.5 floors. While the ground and first floors are usually reserved for the family and guest rooms, the second-floor second floor is usually less than half the area of the basement. .The remaining space can be used as a terrace, rooftop garden, outdoor or barbeque area. Spacious terraces are ideal for family holidays including the much loved Ramadan Iftars.
Additionally, you are even allowed to construct basement floors according to the urban planning standards in Saudi Arabia.

2. Entrance Designs

You’ll be surprised at the difference in Saudi Arabian home architectural design as compared to even other Arab countries. There are essentially two kinds of entrances – a large gate for the car entrance followed by a driveway along with several (around 3-4) doorway entrances for the actual residents of the home. Here’s the breakdown of all the entrances; one for the residents, one for female guests, one for male guests and occasionally a backdoor in the kitchen. Moreover, you’ll find a separate entrance for the suite areas if the home is actually designed on a grand scale.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-3

Saudi homes also have a servant’s quarter. These mainly consist of a maid’s and driver’s room along with a small bathroom and kitchenette. Of course with the new laws in the KSA allowing women to drive, the driver’s room might not be so necessary anymore. The servant’s quarters are usually located outside the kitchen with a separate access to the original house. The driver’s room in a Saudi home architectural design is always designed on the periphery of the house. It is located next to the main gate and has immediate access to the street. It is also sufficient for this room to have a bed and washroom facilities.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-4

3. Landscaping & Green Areas

The green area and landscaping always act as a buffer between the interior and exterior of a Saudi Arabian home architectural design. A Saudi home is enclosed by an outer wall that runs along the periphery of the plot. It is made of solid brick masonry and is about 7-8 feet tall. It is constructed to obstruct outside views into the home, which would violate the family’s privacy. However, these external walls are usually decorated with plasterwork and even ornamental lighting both externally and internally to add to the visual beauty of the home.

Since the Muslim culture is rich with generosity and kindness, people often create niches for water coolers in their exterior walls to accommodate thirsty travelers and passersby. We got to know about this tradition when one of our clients made a request for a niche to be designed on their exterior wall for a water cooler.

I had heard something about this in the past, but I really liked this request as an architect and to have the opportunity to create an area that provides services to others. Only in the design of a home in Saudi Arabia with a distinctly Arabic-Islamic culture can you consider and design such a place of public service in a private property.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-5

As far as actual green spaces are concerned, here’s all you need to know:
– Green spaces and landscape elements are used to create an inherent sense of generosity in a Saudi home architectural design.
– You can use greenery (lawns, small green patches & attractively landscaped areas) along with courtyards to create a natural harmony in the home design.
– Hardscape elements like fountains combined with softscape elements like trees, shrubs, and hedges can create an allure of generosity for friends and family.
– Usually, deep or shallow pools, fountains, grass and various trees and planters that may adapt to the Saudi Arabian climate are the elements that can be used to design the landscaping of a Saudi home.
– A semi-open seating area for family and guests can add value to the overall home design as well.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-6

4. Spaces & Importance of Orientation

It doesn’t matter where a home is located because a living area, dining room, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom are all the essentials that anyone ever needs. But with regards to the climate and culture of KSA, there are a few more rooms you can find in a Saudi home architectural design. a good example of this is a Majlis (or a sitting room) each for men and women along with separate washing spaces and traditional guest dining rooms with Arab style seating.

Another important thing to consider while designing spaces in a Saudi home is the actual orientation. Residences must follow a special architectural layout in the KSA. While maintaining privacy is a key aspect, the orientation is what dictates the actual layout. Did you know that Muslims pray in the direction of the Ka’ba (the House of God)? Therefore, the footboard of the bed must always face a different direction. Similarly, the commode must also never face the west. Moreover, small alcoves and niches for prayer are designed in each room.

Other than that, the bedrooms and living rooms are usually designed on the ground and first floors. Spaces allocated for men are close to the main entrance and completely separated from the privacy of the house and women-oriented spaces. The basement is usually reserved for offices, recreational rooms and movie theatres. Saudi homeowners typically ask for a separate basement door close to the main entrance so they could lead their friends to the basement without going into the privacy of the home.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-7

5. Designing the Majlis

The Majlis is an important part of the Saudi home architectural design. Hospitality has a special place in the Arabic-Islamic culture, and because of this, the Majlis has become an important area for receiving and entertaining guests. Privacy is always a key factor in designing homes for Muslim countries, and the Majlis is no exception for this rule.

Therefore, in the architecture and design of residential homes in Saudi Arabia, two completely separate rooms for the women and men are considered. The two rooms, which are spacious in proportion to the overall size of the house, are spaced relatively apart and have two separate entrances. The men’s Majlis is usually larger than the women’s. The feminine Majlis can be placed in the interior of the home and be close to the private family area. But the men’s Majlis should be placed completely apart from this area.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-8

Here’s what you need to know about the interior design of a Majlis:
– The interior design of the Majlis consists of large sofas placed all around the periphery of the room with coffee tables in front of them for serving.
– The wall and ceiling décor are considered in accordance with the overall theme of the Saudi home architectural design.
– However, the ornamentation is always a little bit more opulent in the Majlis.
– Decorative frames for the walls, ornate cabinets and shelves for accessories, heavy ceiling and wall lighting along with marble floors are a norm in Majlis interior design these days.

6. Designing the Washing Area

Another space which is specific to Saudi Arabian homes is the semi-open ablution area and restroom facilities. Ablution is the washing ritual Muslims carry out before each prayer, so it is very necessary within the context of their culture and traditions. Furthermore, cleanliness is considered a great part of the religion. Muslims wash their hands before every task. Therefore, having a washing area next to the Majlis is very essential in a Saudi home architectural design. This washing area is always separate for men and women. It is usually located next to each Majlis, where two sinks and a mirror are placed next to the restroom facilities. The decorations for the washing area must match that of the Majlis, but it usually has some special ornamentation and lighting of its own.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-9

7. Designing the Traditional Guest Dining Room

Feeding the guests is considered a virtuous thing in Islam – Arabs go as far as considering it their sacred duty. Therefore, in light of the importance of hospitality, it is necessary to consider a large space for the guests to dine. Here is what you should know about designing a traditional guest dining room in a Saudi home architectural design:
– This room should be located between the two Majlises so as to be easily accessible from both sides during meals.
– Interestingly, in contrast to western dining rooms, which are furnished with dining tables and chairs, the traditional Arab dining room has no furniture.
– A long cloth is spread on the floor at mealtime and the guests sit around the cloth on Arabic style seating, namely floor cushions.
– For this purpose, the floor of this room is covered completely with a carpet or rugs.
– The decor of this room is relatively simple, but closets and cupboards for keeping dishes is an integral part of this room.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-10

8. Designing the House Façade

Style is very important in the architectural designs of homes and is the first thing that every architect takes into consideration. Here are some style designs that should be considered when designing in a Saudi Arabian home architectural design:
– Due to the sunlight and the hot desert climate, it’s vital to pay attention to the should’s and should not’s.
– The home exterior should be covered with materials that are durable and resistant to extreme weather conditions.
– Since the paint shade or the material of the exterior of your house can affect the amount of heat (or cold air) that comes through the walls, lighter shades are best for Saudi homes.
– Light-colored paint can help reflect the sun’s heat away from the home. White walls, for example, will gain 35 percent less heat than black walls, therefore requiring less energy to cool the home.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-11

– Brick or concrete walls will keep the interior cooler on those hot summer days than lightweight wall materials. And that same material can help you stay warmer during the colder months. Denser materials naturally soak up heat from the outside and hold it longer, slowing the interior warming process in the summer and the cooling process in the winter.
– Windows should preferably be double glazed, reflective glass or covered with tinted film in a Saudi Arabian home architectural design.
– Window tinting can reduce the heat of the sun in your home. So when you are sitting by a window the window tinting will block 55 percent of the heat coming into your home making you feel more comfortable.
– The size and number of windows should be few, limiting sunlight, but natural light should be considered for all the rooms and spaces.
– This can be achieved by using shades, creating a niche for window setting or by using exterior blinds. These methods will limit sunlight but allow some natural light to come inside.
– The entrances that I talked about before have to be clearly visible in the exterior design because they give the dwelling its identity.
– The women’s and men’s entry doors should also be emphasized in light of the importance of the culture of generosity and hospitality.

Saudi Arabian home architectural design-12

These were my points about the characteristics of a Saudi Arabian home and things that I think every architect or designer should consider.
I hope I was able to share some of my small but important ideas.

Related Posts

Leave a comment

Copyright © 2018 | Comelite-arch.com